Game night + Announcements + Monty Oum

Just a quick post here, to give everyone an update.

First of all, game night is of course next Friday. I’m happy to announce that we will be supporting Noune’s project, Kill to Stop Cancer. For every player who joins us, the NIR will donate 1$ to help fight lung cancer.


Also, as many of you have probably noticed, the GSA site has been updated a bit. Updates will continue for the next few days, and we hope to shape things up a little better. Have a look around, and see what’s new, but remember that things aren’t finished yet.

Some posts may be made soon regarding changes to policy. I’ll get back to you about those changes, hopefully soon.


February first.

Two years ago, today, marks the loss of the visionary, Monty Oum. Well known for his work with Rooster Teeth, particularly on Red vs Blue and RWBY, he was an inspiration to many, through his creativity, work ethics, and attitude.

Today, he wishes to inspire you, too. February first marks a day that everyone should be inspired- Go and begin working on something you’ve always hoped to create. Write the first page of your own story. This is the legacy he would have wanted to leave- To continue to inspire the great creativity in people.

c29wjymveaenlrr

1981-2015.

Rest well, and may you continue to inspire.


That’s all for now.

~I hope to see you all soon.

Jonb7's signature (NBG)

5 thoughts on “Game night + Announcements + Monty Oum

  1. Count me in for game night! not that I can’t be there lol

    Monty was an inspiration. Still is. Dead Fantasy (which started in 2007) was a breakthrough at the time. To this day, The Monty Oum Project stands tall. Create.
    Thanks, Mony.

  2. I actually didn’t know that Monty passed away on this day until I went on Facebook and saw the many posts wishing their final goodbyes. Before RWBY, I didn’t know what anime was. Of course, I’ve watched shows like Pokémon when I was a kid, but I never watched anime. I honestly don’t know why maybe it was because I simply didn’t know it was there. RWBY was my first anime, despite whether people call it one or not. It, in reality, introduced me to anime as a whole. As Kaptain Kristian put it in his recent video about Toonami, “Anime is NOT a genre.” I am just now learning that anime is a style and not a genre.

    Rest in peace Monty.

    1. Ni su’cuyi, gar kyr’adyc, ni partayli, gar darasuum – “I’m still alive, but you are dead. I remember you, so you are eternal”—Daily remembrance of those passed on, followed by the names of those being remembered (From Republic Commando: True Colors)

Write a Comment...

